Ubuntu (or another distro) on a crowded SSD

In summary, the conversation discusses the need for a Linux operating system for a Master's thesis in Physics. The person is considering installing a Linux distro in dual boot with Windows 10 on their laptop, but is concerned about the available space on their SSD. They are seeking advice on the best Linux distro to use and whether they should install it directly on the HDD or partition it with the SSD. It is also mentioned that they have some familiarity with Ubuntu and Xubuntu. The conversation also suggests the option of replacing the 128gb SSD with a larger one, which would require reinstalling Windows. However, it is noted that programs and data are stored on the HDD, so they may not have to be reinstalled.
Millek_55
TL;DR Summary
I want to try understanding which is the best setup for a Linux OS in dual boot with Windows on my laptop, having a small SSD.
I'm a Master student in Physics and my professor for the thesis suggested to use an OS different than Windows, so I want to install a Linux distro in dual boot since I don't want to completely leave Win10 at the moment. I shall point out that I will be working in condensed matter physics (DMRG) and install some codes in the new OS (Python with TeNPy, maybe Julia, plus some plotting library), along with a couple of useful apps like Matlab and so on.

On my laptop I have a 128gb SSD (Intel SSDSC2KF128G8L) with only 45gb of free space and a 1tb HDD (Seagate ST1000LM035-1RK172) with 350gb of free space (I can also remove more trash from the HDD, but not so easily from the SSD). So my idea was to create partition for the root in the SSD and the one for /home in the HDD, in order to still exploit the speed of the SSD. However, I'm not sure I have room in the SSD to leave both systems enough empty space in order to run efficiently, since I got contrasting opinion looking on the web. Therefore, I'm asking for any advice about the following doubts: