UCSC for Physics Undergraduate?

In summary, the conversation is about a community college transfer student who has been admitted to UCSC for physics as a junior. They are wondering about the reputation of the program and if it would be a good choice for their future academic goals, specifically in regards to graduate school and research opportunities. Another person in the conversation mentions UCSC's strength in astrophysics and particle physics, and the potential for success in the program leading to opportunities at prestigious institutions. The original student is encouraged by this information.
ohnoesawolf
Hello all,

I'm a community college transfer student who was recently admitted to UCSC for physics as a junior. I've heard good but very few things about their program and was just wondering if there is any clout behind that. I realize most students want to go to Cal, UCLA, or UCSB for physics but does UCSC have anything to offer?

I also found this undergraduate handbook on their webpage: http://physics.ucsc.edu/undergrad/ughandbook09-10.pdf"

Any insight into this would be excellent. I'd like to continue on to graduate school after I complete my bachelor's degree. How well do you think their program would set me up to get into something like MIT or Caltech?

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org
Any idea on what kind of research you want to do? For astrophysics ucsc might be one of top 5 places worlwide...

I'm very interested in particle and I'm very interested astro. From what I've been reading about their program, it seems like they're really great for both.