Uncovering Krauss's Flaws: Analysis of Claims in a Universe from Nothing

• Thread starter Thomas Moore
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Universe
In summary: Krauss also does not address the philosophical and metaphysical implications of the existence of the quantum vacuum. In summary, the book may be entertaining and persuasive, but it does not fully answer the question it sets out to address and may be misleading in its claims.
Thomas Moore
Hi
I am new on here, so please forgive me if this is in the wrong place. I am currently an Undergraduate physics major at UCLA, and want to pursue cosmology as a career eventually.

A few of my friends are big fans of Lawrence Krauss, and recommended his book, a Universe from Nothing. I searched for it in Google, and found an arXiv article by a mathematical physicist, who has disproved many of the claims in the book. Since the article has mathematics that is way above my head, I'm wondering if other experts could analyze some of the claims? The author even acknowledges George Ellis, which may indicate that it is on firm ground. If so, why does Krauss continue to garner so much attention, if his claims are imcorrect. Here is the article: https://inspirehep.net/record/1298212?ln=en

Space news on Phys.org
For one thing, Krause is very articulate, personable, and charming. I don't care for his theory of a universe from nothing (I have the book) but I find him entertaining, both in writing and on TV shows. It's possible that he's doing what he does for the money but I doubt it. I think he believes what he says he believes. Yeah, the TV shows he likely does for the ego gratification, but I think he says what he believes when he's on them.

Likes Stephanus