Undergrad student loans for PhD

In summary, the student is considering attending Grinnell College, with the initial intent of majoring in physics. He is considering around 40k in debt by the time he graduates from undergraduate school. He is looking at around 23k in subsidized federal loans he can defer interest accumulation, and if he decides to get a PhD, he is concerned about how he will be able to pay off the debt. Grinnell meets 100% of demonstrated financial need, and the student has received a scholarship and offers of 45k/year in grants, loans, and work-study. The student believes that 9k more is worth it over 4 years, as Grinnell has many other facets and opportunities he is interested in.
Ritzycat
Hi friends

I am a high school student and I'll be going into college next year. I will likely be attending Grinnell College, with the initial intent of majoring in physics. (I do not need the talk of possibly changing interests, I realize that; I am planning for all possible outcomes) It is of comparable price to the other schools I have been accepted to (after need-based financial aid and scholarships are applied). I am looking at around 40k debt by the time I graduate from undergrad. 23k of those loans will be subsidized federal ones that I can defer interest accumulation until I finish school altogether.

If I am possibly considering getting a PhD at some point, is this too much debt? Is it doable or possible? The only major concern I have with doing this is that it may be hard to pay off on a post-doc salary if I decide to go that route.

Physics news on Phys.org
Thanks for your response. I read Part 4. I understand that most PhD students receive assistantships for the duration of the program. However, I am more concerned about how having 40k in student debt from undergrad will affect my quality of life as a post-doc researcher making a fairly low salary.