Understanding Failure in Helical Gears: The Role of Rolling and Sliding Contact

In summary, the conversation discussed the differences between rolling and sliding dynamics in gears, specifically in the case of spur and helical gears. It was mentioned that the main cause of failure in spur gears is believed to be rolling, while the sliding contact in helical gears may play a more important role. However, there is a lack of literature comparing the effects of rolling and sliding on the surface of helical gear teeth. The conversation also touched on the advantages and disadvantages of helical gears, with the main disadvantage being end thrust. Lastly, there was a question about the statement regarding rolling being the main cause of failure in spur gears, with a request for a reference to clarify the statement.
Nahahahah
Hi everyone.
I'm a college student, and I need help of experts with gears.

What I know is that there are two dynamics in gear : rolling and sliding.
And I heard that the main cause of failure (wear) of spur gear is rolling.

Then... how about the cause of failure in the case of helical gear??
I felt that the sliding works as more important role in helical gear than spur gear because of their geometry.
But I can't find any literature that comparing effect of rolling and sliding on the surface of helical gear teeth (especially for failure).

And what is a difference between failure by rolling and sliding on the gear teeth??

I hope I could get an answer...
Thank you!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Nahahahah said:
Then... how about the cause of failure in the case of helical gear??
Think of the helical gear as a stack of very thin spur gears with a one tooth twist in the stack. You will then see that helical and spur gears should be identical in wear characteristics. The advantage of helical is that there is no instant of tooth meshing contact, so the gears run quieter. The disadvantage is the end thrust.

Nahahahah said: