Unraveling the Gamma Factor Equation

• Thread starter Infamo
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gamma
In summary, the gamma factor equation represents how time and length change as a function of velocity. Einstein derived this equation by using a light clock analogy. He stated that the gamma factor would need to be 30,000 in order to reach the center of the Milkyway in 30 years. The amount of time it would take light to reach the center of the galaxy is the gamma factor divided by the velocity.
Infamo
I'm new to the whole relativity thing, and I've been reading the book
E=mc^2, The Equation That Changed the World. I don't know if any of you have read the book, but, in the book, give the gamma factor equation, gammefactor=1/sqrt[1-(v/c)^2], now, here are my questions.
1.) What really does the gamma factor represent?
2.) How did einstein come up with this equation?
3.) In the book, (physicist named Haller, Einstein, and Newton are talking) they go to find out how fast you would have to go to reach the center of the galaxy(Milkyway), in 30years(with time dialation), he says that the gamma factor would have to be 30,000/30, which is 1,000(corresponding gamma factor). How he doesn't state where he got 30,000 from, but I can see where 30 came from(30 years) but not 30,000. Now it doesn't state how far the person is traveling(earth to the center of the galaxy), that is all the information that is given.
Any help would be appreciated,
Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Infamo, welcome to PF!

I read the book, and found it a pretty entertainig read. About your questions:

1) It tells you how time and length change as a function of velocity. When you see something going by with a velocity v you wil measure its length (in the direction of motion!) contracted as compared to the objects 'rest length'. This 'Lorentz contraction' can be written in a formula:

[tex]L=L_0/\gamma[/tex] with [tex]\gamma =\frac{1}{\sqrt{1-\frac{v^2}{c^2}}}[/tex]