Unraveling the Mysteries of Dark Gravity

• B
  • Thread starter Rotating Wave
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Gravity
In summary: Hypothesis This site is a great resource for evaluating hypotheses. It provides a framework for assessing how well a hypothesis fits the data, how plausible the hypothesis is, and whether or not it has been tested.
Rotating Wave
TL;DR Summary
Though I am a beginner, I do have a severely (I think) advanced question concerning Dark... Substances.
There are anti-protons and anti-electrons (anti-neutrons, too?), and "Dark Matter" and "Dark Energy" and, presumably, a "mirror version" of everything in our universe. I don't know a GREAT deal on this subject and I wondered: Is there a "Dark Gravity" that is throwing off our calculations with gravity? Or does it have to be something missing from Einstein's equation (like his was filling in something missing from Newton's equations?

Astronomy news on Phys.org
Antimatter, dark matter and dark energy are three different things. All particles we're familiar with have an antiparticle, yes, although at least in the case of the photon it's its own antiparticle. Antimatter is a well understood phenomenon.

Dark matter and dark energy are simply proposals that cover mismatches between our theories and reality. Dark matter provides invisible extra mass to make galaxies massive enough not to fly apart under their observed rotation, and also explains some structure in the cosmic microwave background. Dark energy provides a slight tweak to the expansion rate of the universe that you cannot provide by messing around with matter and radiation density.