Unsure 10th Grader what to do for the future.

• Thread starter jorgerocha
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Future
In summary, Jorge is a 10th grader who is interested in physics and has been lurking on a forum for 2-3 months. He plans to self-teach himself Pre-Calculus and Calculus before the end of the spring semester. He is currently enrolled in an Early College High School and his local university has a good physics program. His parents want him to pursue a degree in a field that will guarantee a job, so he is considering engineering. He is open to learning new things and suggests focusing on areas that have a high demand for jobs, such as engineering, computer science, and applied mathematics. He also recommends gaining experience in communication, interdisciplinary teams, and project work.
jorgerocha
Hello everyone, let me introduce myself: you may call me Jorge (or George, whichever you fancy) and this is my first time posting on here, but I have been lurking around for about 2 or 3 months. Obviously I am in the 10th grade and is very unsure of what to do for the future. I have always been interested in Physics ever since I was 5 (16 right now) and slowly changed my interest from astrophysics to quantum physics. As of right now, I have not taken Calculus, but will self teach myself Pre-Calculus (Pre-Calculus by Sullivan 8th edition) and Calculus (Calculus by Gilbert Strang, free pdf from MIT OCW) before the end of this spring semester. I am not worried if it might be rigorous because mathematics has always been my forte, by far.