V-Tail and Aileron-Less Design

In summary, Freddy is trying to design an aileron less and tail engine small UAV, but is having difficulty with Stability and Control. He is looking for help from others in this area.
Freddy Diaz
Hi Physics Community,

I'm working on the design of an aileron less and tail engine small UAV (Wing span 800mm) but I got stuck in Stability and Control. I recall from a teacher that a V-tail design is good for those configurations. However, I cannot find references to calculate/estimate neither its overall size or surface control size and I'm not sure if it could be calculated with volume coefficient method.

I'd greatly appreciate any help or guide about this topic.

-Freddy.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Hi, Freddy.
Even though I was a pilot back in the mid 70's, I don't really know much about this aspect of aeronautics. The old Beech Bonanza was a steel-headed workhorse with a V-tail. It probably had a longer lifespan than most others, but it sure was weird to look at. One thing that you should consider is that most military drones have the tail in an inverted V. I think that it's to make sure that the pusher prop doesn't hit the ground, since the tips extend below the swept circle of the prop. That's all that I've got; you'll have to await the arrival of others for more assistance.

Likes Freddy Diaz
Without ailerons, you'll need some form of dihedral in the main wing (most of this can be near the wing tips), to create a roll response to yaw (rudder) input. (Swept back wings have some dihedral effect, but probably not enough for good stability). Depending on the model, V-tails may involve less drag than conventional tails, and they do produce a small amount of roll torque when used for rudder effect, but probably not enough for stability, so you're stuck with dihedral and it probably doesn't matter much if you use a V-tail or conventional tail.

Likes Freddy Diaz