Virtue of being patient with someone who may never reciprocate?

• Thread starter v0rtex
  • Start date
In summary, the grad student is attracted to another grad student, but she is selective and the older student is having difficulty getting her attention.
v0rtex
I'm a grad student that has been stricken by the charm of another slightly more senior (though slightly younger) grad student. We've known each other a few months prior to starting grad school through a conference and have so far had a great friendship, doing fairly involved favors for each other and sharing things that no one of the opposite gender has ever shared with me. I get the feeling the person is just like this with everyone and I am not "special", but then again I have never seen them how they behave with potential partners.

Some background:
Her: I don't mean to put the person on a pedestal, but the person is a 10/10 by every imaginable standard, and she knows it. I really never thought anyone could possibly elicit as much joy as she does in our interactions. Tremendous overlap in interests, outlook, maturity, and goals. I would have never thought I would fall for let alone have a chance someone like this and have tried very hard to keep her out of mind, but I am not succeeding.