Visible light reflection v.s X-Ray reflection

In summary, the conversation discusses the emission of photons from an atom when an electron transitions from a higher to a lower energy state. It is speculated that if the mass of protons and electrons were increased or if there were large differences in energy states, x-rays or photons with greater energy than visible light could be created. The concept of reflection is brought up, but it is noted that creating x-ray "mirrors" is difficult due to the formation of solid materials. It is also questioned if there could be elements that transmit visible light 100% due to having energy levels too high to absorb it. The conversation ends with a discussion on the absorption of x-rays and the use of spectroscopy.
cj20x2
I'm a bit new to studying physics so I hope this question doesn't sound off. I already know this

"Photons are emitted from an atom when an electron transitions from one state to a lower-energy state. The energy of the emitted photon equal to the difference in energy between the two states."

1. This makes me wonder, if you were somehow able to permanently increase the mass of Protons and Electrons enough(or have an atom with electrons that had huge state differences), would the energy difference in the lower and higher states of the electrons be able to create and reflect X-Rays or photons with greater energy than visible light?

2. If the size of protons and electrons were large enough would visible light pass through unaltered?

Physics news on Phys.org
cj20x2 said:
I'm a bit new to studying physics so I hope this question doesn't sound off. I already know this

"Photons are emitted from an atom when an electron transitions from one state to a lower-energy state. The energy of the emitted photon equal to the difference in energy between the two states."