What are Immediate Early response Genes?

In summary: I think the textbook is saying that the transcription of RNA from DNA without the addition of new proteins is mediated by proteins that are already present in the cell.
Matt204823545
TL;DR Summary
I don't understand when people explain it.
So I'm studying the MAPK pathway and Erk (MAPK) activates IEGs (Immediate Early response Genes) such as Myc, Fos and Jun. What are IEGs?
I was told:
IEGs:
- expressed at the mRNA level (what does this mean? what's a "level"? what does "expressed" mean?)
- and hence don't require protein synthesis (what does this mean? why is this special? what is protein synthesis?)
- Myc is an IEG and a transcription factor that activates expression of late response genes (what's the difference between late response and IEG?)

Here's the 2 minute lecture that I'm referring to:

This is from my textbook:
Capture.PNG

Last edited:
Biology news on Phys.org
A gene is a DNA sequence. Let's say you give an animal an injection of cocaine. An immediate early gene is a a gene that is activated soon after the cocaine injection. By activated, we mean that complementary RNA is made or transcribed from the DNA sequence of the immediate early gene. After the complementary RNA has been transcribed, protein is made or expressed according to the sequence of the complementary RNA.

In the view of the textbook, the transcription of RNA from DNA when an immediate early gene does not require new proteins to be synthesized, ie, the transcription is mediated by proteins that are already present in the cell at the time of cocaine injection.

In contrast, late response genes require proteins to be made via the activation of immediate early genes.

Likes BillTre
atyy said: