What are the physics behind quantum computing?

In summary, Simon recommends that you read a few online articles and focus on the difference between old-style core memory, RAM chips, and quantum computing, and how quantum mechanics effects computer operations. He also suggests starting with Turing and Von Neuman's mathematical definition of a computer, and looking for QM structures that satisfy those operations. He suggests skipping practical computing theory to focus on fundamentals, and summarizing attempted real-world implementations. Finally, Simon believes that lack of computing experience will be an advantage.
sick1
Physics behind Quantum Computing

Hello :) I am interested in the quantum computing, but surprise surprise, I'm interested in the physics behind it. I am 17 and I was wondering of any books or resources that I can read to get an introduction on the physics behind quantum computing as I plan to write a ~3000 word assignment on it. I am a UK college student studying A level physics hoping to apply to University next year. Thanks!

PS. Sorry for the previous name.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
There are two parts of this;
1. you need enough information around the subject of Quantum Computing to complete an A-level assignment.
2. you need additional material to give you a guide for prep for University - what to study to be grounded in quantum computing.

For each of these you have an enormous resource online to soak up - there is no royal road to knowledge: you just have to plow through it. We can recommend resources, and we will, but will have to guess at your learning style.