What do you suggest for someone with Asperger's in Science?

• Job Skills
  • Thread starter science_rules
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Science
In summary: I don't know how to say it. I am not a good engineer because I am not good at socializing.In summary, I suggest that if someone is wanting to go into research in a Chemistry or Physics field and is shy and has always had difficulty with eye contact and has been diagnosed with Asperger's, they should keep in mind what they want to do, make a plan, and stick to business. If this person has Asperger's, they are protected from workplace discrimination once hired.
science_rules
What do you suggest as far as tips for interviewing and interacting with team members for someone who is wanting to go into research in a Chemistry or Physics field who is shy and has always had difficulty with eye contact and has been diagnosed with Asperger's? Also, do you have Asperger's as well? This person is on the high-functioning end. If this person has been diagnosed with Asperger's are they protected from workplace discrimination once hired?

Physics news on Phys.org
science_rules said:
If this person has been diagnosed with Asperger's are they protected from workplace discrimination once hired?

Anyone with a disability (in the U.S.) is protected from workplace discrimination before and after being hired.

science_rules said:
What do you suggest as far as tips for interviewing and interacting with team members for someone who is wanting to go into research in a Chemistry or Physics field who is shy and has always had difficulty with eye contact and has been diagnosed with Asperger's? Also, do you have Asperger's as well? This person is on the high-functioning end. If this person has been diagnosed with Asperger's are they protected from workplace discrimination once hired?