What is the best way to measure the sensitivity of photosensors?

In summary, the high school student is investigating the sensitivity of photosensors by changing the distance between the light source and the detectors. They are unsure of what quantity to use to describe the sensitivity of the photosensors and are looking for advice.
akzo
Hi there,

My name is Anar Kazimov and I want to carry out an experiment related to the sensitivity of the photosensors(photodiode,photoresistors and etc.). To find their sensitivity I am going to change the distance, from the light source to the sensors, and compare the change in output voltage(see the circuit). But the problem is that I am a high school student and I don't know how to describe my experiment more scientifically. Can I say something like this: "The sensitivity of the photosensors to the change in lumen flux"? I am hesitating in this description because lumen flux doesn't change with the distance from the light source, then what quantity should I use to describe the sensitivity of photosensors?

Kind regards.

Circuit_to_explore_different_optoelectronic_devi.png

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi Anar,
That's a great experiment. LOTS to learn.
Did you think this up on your own, discover it in a source or is it a school project?

akzo said:
To find their sensitivity I am going to change the distance, from the light source to the sensors, and compare the change in output voltage(see the circuit).

Generally, you'll need to think about both source and receiver [detector] characteristics. That includes not only the 'sensitivity' of photosensor but the associated amplifier as well.

Different measures of illumination are listed here...
I don't know which would be most suitable...and probably shouldn't tell you if I did know.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Luminous_flux

After a quick scan, I noticed different terminology relative to the article in Post #2.