What is the Optimal Wall Thickness for a Square Tube Supporting a Static Load?

In summary, if you want to make a steel beam with a balance point 2 feet from one end, the square tube needs to be at least 1 inch thick.
james ichi
I need to make a steel beam ( or aluminum) of square tube ( box beam) 10 feet long with a balance point 2 feet from one end. The short end will have 60 lbs on it and the long end will have 30 lbs. how thick of a wall will the square tube need to be to hold the static load?

Engineering news on Phys.org
james ichi said:
I need to make a steel beam ( or aluminum) of square tube ( box beam) 10 feet long with a balance point 2 feet from one end. The short end will have 60 lbs on it and the long end will have 30 lbs. how thick of a wall will the square tube need to be to hold the static load?

Welcome to the PF.

What is the context of your question? What is this beam to be used for? What is your background in this type of design?

My background is minimal. It's part of a art instalation.

james ichi said:
My background is minimal. It's part of a art instalation.

Who will be held liable if you take advice for this on a web forum, and it fails and hurts some people? Can you ask for help from your ME department instead?

On one but myself

Unfortunately, your setup is a very particular one and cannot be resolved easily by quick calculations from common cases.

Your forces don't seem to be balanced, thus a twisting torque will be applied at the junction of the beam and support. The design of that junction will be critical and how you intend to do it is crucial for the calculations.

Also the thickness depends on the size and the material of your square tubing (Usually, a larger square can have a thinner wall and aluminum needs to be thicker than steel for a given size).