What Major Is Best For My Future?

In summary: Electrical engineering is the best route for me because it has the most focus on efficiency and designing things to work well with other electronic equipment. Mechanical engineering is good for understanding how things work and for manufacturing. However the downside is that it doesnt seem to have as much focus on solar energy as electrical engineering. Civil engineering is the best route because it has the most focus on solving the bigger problems with solar energy. It doesnt matter if its public or private, as theres a lot of potential for solar energy in both sectors.
TMECLT
I know that when I get out of school I want to help develop solar roadways, bike paths, and parking lots. Potentially even help with the efficiency rate of solar panels. However, I'm currently a mechanical engineering student with a concentration in energy. The only way to get a concentration in energy is to go through mechanical engineering. I feel like ME will help me as far as the designing and manufacturing of future solar panels. BUT Electrical will help with the efficiency and true inner design and understanding of solar panels. and Civil will help with the whole roadway, bike path, parking lot problem. The question is, which one is the best route?

Physics news on Phys.org
That depends on how far you are into your mechanical engineering education, what your career goals are, and on what scale you wish to be involved with solar energy. The actual photovoltaic cells are something being worked on by electrical engineers (and probably physicists), but I'm not sure about whether or not mechanical engineers work on that. These involve some heavy amounts of physics from what I know.