What's wrong with engineering?

• Thread starter justinlj
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Engineering
In summary, there are many problems with engineering which are causing many people to doubt the profession. There is a 'shortage' of engineers, but this is because companies are trying to get cheaper foreign engineers instead of hiring locals. There has been a decline in engineering education and careers for a few reasons, including that young people don't have an interest in the subject and that many schools don't prepare students for the demands of the industry. The market is not giving engineers the recognition they deserve, and many of the jobs are going to those who can sell products.
justinlj
Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum :) I'm currently an undergraduate who is studying mechanical engineering in a singapore university. for your information, singapore is in south east asia, if anyone of you is wondering where it is haha.

Recently, there have been lots of problems about engineering that have been bothering me.

Engineering is not an easy course, i believe there are lots of others who feel so too. I have not been able to cope very well and i always feel that i am underperforming.

Moreover, i get to realize that engineering as a whole has been on a decline since many years ago. Countries and companies always complain that there is a 'lack' of engineers and scientist worldwide. However, i have read through many articles that debate about this 'shortage'.