When is it worthwhile to retake a class?

In summary, the individual is a freshman at an elite university, majoring in engineering physics with hopes of attending grad school in applied physics. They received a C- in their multivariable calc and linear algebra course, which may negatively impact their GPA. They believe they have learned the material and could easily get a better grade if they retake the course, but are unsure if it's worth it or if it will affect their chances of getting into a good masters or PhD program. They also mention that at their university, retaking a course does not remove the prior instance from their transcript. They seek advice on what to do in this situation.
Nova9
I'm a freshman who just finished their first semester at (insert elite university that I don't want to namedrop here), and I am an engineering physics major with a hope to one day do grad school in applied physics at a similar school. Anyway, due to the almost non-existence of a curve and the rough transition from high school to college I ended up with a C- in my multivariable calc and linear algebra course (it is one class), which although passing probably won't look good and made a damper on my GPA (as it is more than 25% of my current unit count at the moment). Despite this I feel as if I really did learn the material (granted most of my ah-ha moments didn't happen until it was too late), so I could probably easily get a very good grade this time around, but I could also move on and take more advanced classes and not have to overload on units down the line. However, obviously I don't want this one grade to keep me from getting into a good masters or PhD program down the line, or prevent me from doing research this or next summer. I would appreciate any advice I could get - thank you :)

Physics news on Phys.org
Nova9 said: