When will the acceleration of a particle be zero?

In summary: Homework Statement So I am studying for my finals at the moment, and I came across a problem that I am not really sure how to assess. I am given that the velocity of a particle is determined by vx=12t2-5t, vy=15t3-6t. It wants me to find when the acceleration of the particle will be zero at time t. Because the equation is in parametric form, I am kind of confused by it, and am unsure of what I am supposed to use to determine the acceleration at a given time. The answer will also be never, but I am unsure how that is determined.Homework EquationsI thought maybe because acceleration is determined from the derivative of velocity, use
Quantum Singularity

Homework Statement

So I am studying for my finals at the moment, and I came across a problem that I am not really sure how to assess. I am given that the velocity of a particle is determined by vx=12t2-5t, vy=15t3-6t. It wants me to find when the acceleration of the particle will be zero at time t. Because the equation is in parametric form, I am kind of confused by it, and am unsure of what I am supposed to use to determine the acceleration at a given time. The answer will also be never, but I am unsure how that is determined.

Homework Equations

I thought maybe because acceleration is determined from the derivative of velocity, use (dy/dt)/(dx/dt) but after researching a little bit, I found the equation:
||a||=√((d2x/dt2)2+(d2y/dt2)2)

The Attempt at a Solution

So using the second equation:
||a||=√(242+(90t)2)
0=√(576+8100t2)
0=576+8100t2
-576/8100=t2
√(-576/8100)=t
So this would seem like it is the correct way to assess the problem, considering t doesn't exist for a=0. Did I do this right? Or is there another way to do it? If so, what is the correct equation(s) to use?

Physics news on Phys.org
Quantum Singularity said:

Homework Statement