Why does current remain the same in a series circuit?

In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of electrical current in a series circuit and how it is affected by resistance. The main point is that in a series circuit, the current remains constant throughout all components, regardless of the amount of resistance. This is because the resistance acts as a "friction" that slows down the movement of charges, but the same amount of charges will still flow through the entire circuit. The conversation also touches on the speed at which the voltage propagates in a circuit and the importance of understanding drift velocity in fully grasping the concept of current.
marciokoko
Gold Member
Hi

Im studying electronics off the web (btw I am looking for a good online course). My background is in Biochemistry and I've gotten into programming (6+ years) and recently Arduino projects (1 year). I am trying to get a better handle on electricity.

As I am reading about Ohms law here (http://www.learn-about-electronics.com/series-circuit.html) I read that in a series circuit, the current through one of the components is the only measurement we need to know to determine the current through the whole circuit because since there is only one path in the circuit the same current must flow through every point. My first confusion comes here because I thought that a resistor was a component that 'resisted' electrical current flow. And since I=V/R, then current must definitely be reduced by an increase in Resistance.

Why is this confusing me? An amp (current flow measure) is C per second. So a resistor reduces the rate of movement but not the total movement? Is that what is confusing me?

Engineering news on Phys.org