Mirror neutrons all over the science news

In summary, the paper discusses a 5 sigma event where neutrons appear to decay faster in the presence of a magnetic field, leading to the theory of parallel universes and mirror particles. However, some experts are skeptical of the experiment and believe there may be alternative explanations for the results. The paper also raises questions about how and when this phenomenon will be tested and the validity of multiverse math. Some argue that the theory is getting overly complicated and that scientists should focus on simply describing the phenomenon rather than creating wild hypotheses. Overall, there is still much debate and more testing needed to confirm or deny the existence of a mirror magnetic field around the Earth and the potential link to parallel universes.
Space news on Phys.org
Interesting, but I would cast my vote on some sort of decay mechanism or something before I put it on mirror particles.

I am not very experienced in physics but have a few questions.

How and when will they test for this?

Is this likely to be true and what is the percentage of a 5 sigma event?

Are there multiple universes or only an additonal universe plus are own? If there is only one additional universe what would it be like?

billa12 said:
I am not very experienced in physics but have a few questions.

How and when will they test for this?

Is this likely to be true and what is the percentage of a 5 sigma event?

Are there multiple universes or only an additonal universe plus are own? If there is only one additional universe what would it be like?

The sigma scale refers to the percentage chance that the result can be reproduced by another physicist. The 'parallel worlds' are their explanation for the phenomenon. The confidence level is in the experiment, not in the theory that attempts to explain it. Sigma 5 is the highest possible score of statistical reliability.