Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

12V DC to 12V AC

1. May 10, 2017 #1
    Hey all,

A 'rank' newbie here, so please bear with me. ;-)

I have a 'solar charged' 12V battery (with charger) for an electric fence charger. I'd like to use this solar charger and battery to power a 12V AC (I think) low voltage landscape bug zapper. It 'must' be 12V AC, I think?

Is there a fairly easy/cheap way to do this, or am I having pipe dreams?

Thanks!!!

Phil

2. jcsd
  3. May 10, 2017 #2
    It might be very simple, but you need to know more about each of the components.

How many amp-hours is the battery?

What is the actual power requirement for the bug zapper? Saying "12V AC (I think)", isn't going to get you there. How much voltage, how much current? AC or DC? Maybe a model number of the device if you can't determine this info.

4. May 11, 2017 #3
    The Battery is 14 AH. The Zapper is Malibu Landscape Lighting Model 8401-4501-01. It says LED 12V, 1.3W.

Thanks!

5. May 11, 2017 #4
    When I looked up that model number, it does not include a power supply, it says to use with a low voltage landscape system. It wasn't 100% clear to me if all those systems are AC or DC, or what the voltage tolerance is. What were you using to power the bug Zapper? What are the specs or readings on it (do you have a meter?)?

Assuming it is DC (likely), you can probably connect it directly to the battery. I say probably, because a battery while charging might go up to ~ 13.8 V, so the question is if the Bug Zapper can accept that slightly higher voltage ( probably).

If it can be connected directly, a fully charged 14 AH battery , the zapper draws about .11A, so about 127 hours of operation - looks good.

6. May 11, 2017 #5