A few questions regarding Astrophysics ;

In summary, the conversation discusses the necessary subjects for becoming an astrophysicist, the job availability and research in the field, recommended books for learning about fundamental topics, and employment opportunities outside of academia. It is recommended to have a strong background in physics, computer science, and math, and there is a surplus of astrophysicists compared to available jobs. The book "Introduction to Modern Astrophysics" by Carroll & Ostlie is suggested for learning about topics such as dark matter, dark energy, and black holes. Employment options for astrophysicists include academia, national labs, observatories, and NASA.
dreamLord
I'm currently a second year undergrad student, in a three year Bachelors program of Physics. I've been trying to read up a little on Astrophysics(to pursue it in grad school), and have a few questions regarding the field :

1. What are the subjects(at an undergrad level) one must be an expert of in order to be a good Astrophysicist? By subjects I mean Classical Mechanics, E&M, Thermal Physics etc etc. I suppose Classical Mechanics and General Relativity are a must - what else?

2. Is there either a dearth, or an excess of Astrophysicists in the world today? This question is regarding job availability and current research. Is Astrophysics a relatively uncharted field? Are there still many fundamental questions waiting to be answered?

4. Where, other than in academia, are Astrophysicists employed?

3. I don't have much knowledge outside of my textbooks, so what are some good books that talk about Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Black Holes etc (the fundamental topics of Astrophysics if you may.) I suppose I could wikipaedia all of them, but I feel I understand better from books.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
1. A physics major is a good start. If you can take any computer science (programming) and astronomy courses along with that, do so. And a lot of math, of course.