Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A question and theory about light

1. Apr 5, 2007 #1
    Hey guys! I'm pretty new to physics, so please forgive me if this is a dumb question.:confused: Anyway, I was thinking yesterday, "What the heck is light made of?" So I looked it up on the internet and found out light is made of particals and waves.(or something like that.) So I just kinda sat down and watched the discovery channel and saw a show that was talking about the displacement of water when something falls into it. Then I thought, "Does light displace water?" Since its particals and all. Can you guys tell me the answer to this question?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 8, 2007 #2
    actually light is nothing but electromagnetic waves and they travels in the form of small bundles called "Photons"

4. Apr 8, 2007 #3

Mentz114

Gold Member

Hi Mato. Although it's possible to think of light as partcles, they are not made of matter and have no mass or weight in the usual sense. So they wouldn't displace water. Light can travel through water, as you can see and gets deflected in the process.

5. Apr 8, 2007 #4
    This isn’t exactly true, light can displace water. Optical tweezers for example can move a single molecule of water. Because light has momentum it can move water, given the right constraints. Albeit seeing "light" (EM waves) move water is not going to be observable on our macroscopic scale.

6. Apr 8, 2007 #5

Hurkyl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

The third thing you say here is right.

Before quantum mechanics, we had classical mechanics. In classical mechanics, we talked about things we called "particles" and "waves". Light was confusing because it behaved a little like a classical particle, and a little like a classical wave.