A rather difficult problem: deltoid inscribed into an ellipse

In summary, a problem was proposed in 1995 in the "Annual Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition" involving an ellipse and a fixed point inside it. The problem was to prove that a specific expression involving four segments is independent of the choice of perpendicular lines through the fixed point. The conversation discusses the difficulty of finding a solution using analytic cartesian methods and the search for a more elegant geometric solution. One participant suggests expanding the ellipse until it becomes a circle and using classical geometric techniques to prove the property.
lemma28
I'm a collage teacher and I've found a very hard problem in one of my math classrooms' textbooks. It was firstly proposed as problem n. 9, back in 1995, in the "Annual Iowa Collegiate Mathematics Competition". Link is here (no solution file available in the site for that year).

The text is rather simple:

Let E be an ellipse in the plane and let A be a fixed point inside of E. Suppose that two perpendicular lines through A intersect E in points P, P' and Q, Q' respectively. Prove that

[itex]\frac{1}{\bar{AP} \cdot \bar{AP'}}+\frac{1}{\bar{AQ} \cdot \bar{AQ'}} [/itex]

is independent of the choice of lines.

Practically there's a "deltoid" (a quadrilateral with perpendicular diagonals) inscribed into a generic ellipse and the property to demonstrate involve the four segments in which the diagonals are reciprocally subdivided.

Till now I've found that:
  • the property is actually true. I've seen that by empirical verification using Geogebra and following the cartesian analytic solution (see 1) outlined below;
  • using a cartesian reference system it's possible to prove the property, but with huge calculations (see 1);