Aluminum and copper -- Galvanic corrosion

In summary: I'm just trying to understand why it's not a good idea to use aluminium in these situations.I just wanted to understand the corrosion process better.
Curiousphy
If a copper water pipe is connected to a piece of aluminum through a copper wire, where will the galvanic corrosion take place? On the wire to aluminum joint eating away at the aluminum, or will the whole water pipe suffer? (does copper corrode aluminum, or vice versa, or each other?) thanks

Engineering news on Phys.org
Curiousphy said:
If a copper water pipe is connected to a piece of aluminum through a copper wire, where will the galvanic corrosion take place? On the wire to aluminum joint eating away at the aluminum, or will the whole water pipe suffer? (does copper corrode aluminum, or vice versa, or each other?) thanks
Well I am not a materials expert by any means, but my years of experience tell me that
1. Copper to aluminum connections should be avoided;
2. It is the copper that corrodes the aluminum, and in the process, both the clamp and wires corrode at the connection;
3. When copper to aluminum wire connections are unavoidable, use as large a mass as possible of an aluminum bolted clamp; and
4. Install the aluminum above the copper, to prevent the copper ‘salts’ from ‘dripping’ onto the aluminum.

If I treat the aluminum piece and the copper wire as consumable and easily replaceable, is the copper pipe itself totally safe from corrosion through this connection? actually, would this give the copper pipe some protection and effectively make the aluminum piece a sacrificial anode?

What if the copper wire was connected to a metal that was less reactive than copper, would it corrode the wire at the connection or corrode the pipe as well? would the copper wire provide a corrosion buffer for the pipe?

Last edited:
Curiousphy said: