Should I Prioritize My Education or Pursue Inventions During My Spare Time?

• Thread starter taylaron
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Time
In summary, the person asking for advice is a college freshman studying EE with a passion for creativity and invention. They are currently struggling with whether to focus on their education or continue pursuing independent research in their spare time. They are seeking advice on whether they should put their ideas "on the back burner" until after finishing their education or continue actively pursuing them alongside their studies. The response suggests that actively pursuing interests outside of the classroom is important for success as a scientist and suggests joining an engineering student group or starting one if the school does not have one.
taylaron
Gold Member
Hi, I am a college freshman studying EE. I'm very creative and artistic. I intend to be a research scientist after I finish my education and pursue the art of being an inventor.
My dilemma is what to focus on in my spare time.

At this time I am doing a lot of independent research on ideas that I believe have potential in the real world. However, since many of them are cutting-edge technology, pretty much all significant progress must be done in a laboratory with laboratory funding... (opposed to at home in my spare time with personal funds).

I do agree that my education is a priority and everything else is secondary. However, being the nature of an inventor, the whole idea of successfully constructing something new "before someone else beats you to it" attitude has produced a dilemma. I want to actively pursue independent research along side my education as to make progress and feel that I am not "sitting back and watch other people get credit for concepts I've already conceived"...