1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Any good online physics degrees? Bachelors or Masters

1. Jun 6, 2009 #1
    I am currently a law student and intend to eventually practice ‘patent’ law, however law students are not permitted to sit for the patent law bar exam unless they have an academic background in one of the core sciences. There are specific degrees (or classes) which fulfill this prerequisite. A bachelors or masters in Physics will suffice, or a minimum of 24 semester hours in physics for physics majors.

I have no undergraduate background in physics, but would like to complete 24 semester hours in an 'on-line' bachelors or masters program from an accredited on-line program (if one exists.)

I am not having much luck finding anything that meets my needs. There is a on-line masters program in Beam physics at Michigan State University, but I don't think i want to focus on something so specific. Does anyone have any knowledge of any other accredited on-line programs in physics?

Thanks so much!

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 6, 2009 #2
    Do you primarily need the credits or the courses? That is, are you able to take credit-by-exam tests?

4. Jun 6, 2009 #3
    Thanks for the post. Here's how the requirements read:

"...an applicant can satisfy one of the four options, other training, or other education listed below. The applicant must submit the necessary documentation and objective evidence showing satisfaction of one of the options or other means of qualifying.

Option 1: 24 semester hours in physics. Only physics courses for physics majors will be
    accepted. "