1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Are Maxwell's Equations satisfying?

1. Dec 1, 2009 #1
    Excuse me if this is a stupid question.
    I'm now studying Electricity and Magnetism, and I'm coming toward the end of the course. The thought has been crossing my mind recently of what a shame it is that Maxwell's Equations turned out not to be correct, seeing as they are so beautiful and elegant. But thinking about it now, it occured to me that the classical model is, really, very unsatisfying. Gauss' law - that is, the interaction of charges - I think, one can swallow pretty easily. But all the magnetism stuff, and especially all the induction stuff, is really very counter-intuitive, and to me seemingly too convoluted to be correct. Why should charge moving relative to another charge experience a force perpendicular to it in a certain direction? Why should one changing field produce another field? Somehow, the model seems to me very un-nature-y.
    Now, I know that modern physics are purported to be maximally counter-intuitve, but I feel (without really knowing too much about the subject) that they at least have a deep inner-consistency and simplicity at some level which is lacking in all this right-hand-rule stuff.
    My question is, then, what do you (general public) think about this matter? Am I wrong?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 1, 2009 #2

fluidistic

Gold Member

I just finished my intro to EM course so I might be wrong and I think I enter the "general public" you are seeking with your questions.