Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

As a CS student I am required to take a two part physics course.

1. Oct 20, 2008 #1
    Will it be of any use to me if I just want to be a software engineer (which typical just consist of me coding things?)

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2008 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Being a software engineer typically consists of solving problems. Just coding things is a side effect.

It's probably going to be of more use than your compiler class (when are you goign to write a compiler?) or most of your algorithms class (when are you going to write your own sort routine?).

4. Oct 21, 2008 #3
    The logic of physics and coding are very similar. In all reality, coding would be much better if more people used a scientific method-type approach to coding.

5. Oct 21, 2008 #4
    Amen. After I finished my Ph. D. I, like so many others, went to work for a hedge fund. As ours was focused almost entirely on algorithmic trading we had quite a few programmers on the payroll to handle things like model validation for the quants. After a while I noticed that the ones who were excellent at their jobs were people with backgrounds in physics or mathematics; the ones who were terrible (and were, generally, fired after only a couple of months) were all comp. sci. majors.

The computer scientists used to come knowing lots about scripting languages, writing compilers, Rails, Java, C#, LINQ, and so forth. Unfortunately for them, coding for financial mathematics relies almost exclusively on C++, and the C++ code they wrote was generally absolute garbage.