Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

C/++/# Assignment Operator Overloading Question

1. Mar 30, 2017 #1
    Hey everyone. First I am new to programming (so my vocabulary and skills are not very proficient with C++), and I'm learning operator overloading. I have questions about line 1 and lines 5-8 of this code.
    Mod note: changed quote tags to code tags to preserve indentation.
    Code (C):

NumberArray& NumberArray :: operator=(const NumberArray &right)
    {
        if (this != &right)
        {
          if (arraySize > 0)
          {
              delete [] aPtr; // this is a pointer defined in the class
          }
          arraySize = right.arraySize;
          aPtr = new double[arraySize];
          for (int index = 0; index < arraySize; index++)
          {
            aPtr[index] = right.aPtr[index];
          }
        }
        return *this;
    }
    This is sample of a member function in a much larger program. The goal of the program is to demonstrate that during assignment you have to use operator overloading as opposed to a construction operator in initialization. The point of it is if I assigned the following:

NumberArray a, b;
    a = {1, 2, 3}
    b = {2}
    a = b

That a should be 'a' should now be assigned '2'. And this code accomplishes that. However, in line 1 it's returning a reference to NumberArray., and then on line 16, it's using the dereference operator to return the data of stored in the pointer 'this.' My question is, why should I return a reference, and where is this returning the value to?

Secondly, on line 7, why should I want to delete this from the heap? If I reassign my values in lines 11-15, doesn't this just overwrite the memory since I'm using the pointer in those lines? So it doesn't appear to me that I'm creating any memory leaks.