1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Astrophysics student considering Phd prospects upon graduation

1. Jul 8, 2011 #1
    I am studying for a degree in physics with astrophyisics (4 year course) in Ireland and am going into my final year. In my first two years, my grades were very poor due to lack of engagement and so on...I have improved upon this a little in the year I have just completed (3rd year) and acheived an overall 2:1 grade.

I suppose fortunately for me, the weighting for the overall degree mark is:

0%(year1)+5%(year2)+15%(year3)+80%(year4)

which means that despite performing poorly in all other years, if I do well in my final year, I can still come out of it with a 1:1......

What I would like to do upon graduation is move to UK and study for PhD....

and so what I would like advice in is the following - does receiving a 1:1 mean that I will almost certainly be able to find some phd position in the UK (that is also funded)? Ideally I would like to study in the best quality university that I can but what is of utmost importance is that the phd position is provided some kind of mantainence grant...

Finally I should say that for me at least being able to write 1:1 on my CV seems very important as I do not have any noteworthy "extra curricular" achievements to my name that would demonstrate a strong ability in physics.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 8, 2011 #2

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor