Is a Physics PhD Worth It? Considering Career Prospects and Personal Fulfillment

In summary, the conversation discussed the pros and cons of pursuing a physics PhD. It was mentioned that a strong passion for physics and specific research interests are necessary for success in graduate school. The odds of continuing research after a PhD were estimated to be around 1/10, with the possibility of having a full-time research job being dependent on the individual's specific situation. Graduate school was described as being a different kind of stress compared to undergraduate studies, with more freedom and the opportunity to make friends with fellow physics enthusiasts. It was also noted that graduate students have the time and resources to engage in fun activities and hobbies. However, it was emphasized that a strong passion for physics is
zachx
Hi,

I am a junior astrophysics undergraduate student and enjoy physics, but after researching astrophysics PhD's, I am having second thoughts about graduate school.

My impression of physics graduate school right now is that you are paid what amounts to minimum wage to work 60 hours a week for 6 years. I have read too that there is an overproduction of Physics PhD's, so you have to publish exceptional research to get a job in physics. Otherwise, you end up doing something outside of your research interests.

My other big problem is that a few of my professors have dissuaded me from physics. For example, one talked about how people who just graduated computer science are already making more money than him and recommended me to learn more about computers (along with other stories). I don't mind making less for a more fulfilling job, but it's a consideration.

To summarize:
Would you recommend a current undergraduate to pursue a physics PhD?
What are the odds that I would be able to continue doing research after my PhD?
Is graduate school more stressful/fun than being a undergraduate?