Electrical Engineering Attitude Problem in India

• Thread starter chaoseverlasting
  • Start date
In summary: I think the rest of the material should have been covered in the first two years.In summary, the college I go to encourages students to focus on getting a job and barely passing their exams instead of actually becoming engineers. The teachers admit this should have been taught in the first few months of the program, and the syllabus should have been based on what students need to know to start working as engineers. The students are also unhappy with the college, and most of them say they will transfer if they can.
chaoseverlasting
I've just started studying electrical engineering in India; I am in my first year here. The college I go to is supposed to be a pretty good one, I think most, if not all, of the students graduating get jobs in the 7th semester. The attitude, however, is not what I thought would be prevalent in an engineering college. The students are more concerned about getting a job and barely clearing their exams than actually being engineers. Whats more, the system encourages such thinking, which is obvious in the attitude of the teachers (lets just get the course done), and in the very selection of the syllabus. Things which, by the teachers' own admission, should have been taught in six months (fundamentals of electro magnetism), were taught in three or four classes.

I was very keen on doing engineering when I entered college, I am very disheartened now. I am slightly confused as to how I should approach the problem. I am starting to lose interest in subjects, which I never thought Id give up! What should I do?

Physics news on Phys.org
Change schools, now.

Yeah, looks like your school is more of a diploma factory than an actual University. It happens. If you can, I'd switch schools.

A school that only spends 3 classes on E&M, and other fundamental subjects, is not interested in producing good scientists and engineers.