1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Atwood Machine with a twist - String with Mass

1. Mar 24, 2009 #1
    Hello all. I've read the forums a few times for help but this is my first time posting, so please bear with me if I make a few mistakes.

I'm studying for my final undergrad assessment, so I thought a good way to study would be to make "advanced" versions of problems I'm already familiar with. Here's one I came up with but I'm not quite sure I'm on the right track exactly.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    A rope, of mass [tex]M[/tex] and length [tex]L[/tex] (and it's uniform density [tex]\lambda[/tex], for simplicity) is suspended over an idealized pulley (no masses attached to the rope for now). It's released from rest at time [tex]t = 0[/tex] with the length of one side (The right side, for the heck of it) being length [tex]y[/tex]0. I want to find the equation of motion of the string.

2. Relevant equations
    I like using Energy methods, so I'll go with that here:
    [tex]E = T + V[/tex]
    [tex]T = 1/2 m \dot{y}^2[/tex]
    [tex]V = m g y_{cm}[/tex]

3. The attempt at a solution
    Find the total Kinetic Energy of the system:
    [tex]T = T_{right} + T_{left} = 1/2y\lambda\dot{y}^2 + 1/2(L-y)\lambda\dot{y}^2 = 1/2M\dot{y}^2[/tex]
    And the total potential:
    [tex]V = V_{right} + V_{left} = -\frac{\lambda g}{2} y^2 - \frac{\lambda g}{2}(L-y)^2 = -\frac{\lambda g}{2}(L^2 - 2Ly + 2y^2)[/tex]

So the total energy is constant and has the value
    [tex]E = T + V = 1/2M\dot{y}^2 - \frac{\lambda g}{2}(L^2 - 2Ly + 2y^2)[/tex]
    So lets plug in our initial conditions to find the equation of motion at any time!
    At [tex]t=0, y=y_0, \dot{y}=0[/tex]: