1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Avionics Programming Learning Materials?

1. Oct 17, 2015 #1

Rio Larsen

Gold Member

I'm an aspiring aerospace engineer. I know that Ada is a language used in many planes today, but I can't find anything to learn about Ada for avionics--I couldn't find books or tutorials. Do any of you guys have any recommendations on how to go about this? I'm very interested in teaching myself but I can't find any learning materials.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 17, 2015 #2

Rio Larsen

Gold Member

I can find materials on learning the Ada language, but not on how to use Ada in an airplane.

4. Oct 19, 2015 #3

donpacino

Gold Member

a LOT of code in flight critical equipment is written in C.

That being said I wouldn't worry about the language, worry about the application

5. Oct 19, 2015 #4

Rio Larsen

Gold Member

I can find tutorials on any programming language on the Internet, but basically what I'm asking for is a resource that will teach me how to program in (language) in a way that an airplane would be able to understand as well as how I would go about installing it on avionics (as well as debugging). I'm worried about how to put it on airplane avionics, not how to learn a programming language.

6. Oct 19, 2015 #5

donpacino

Gold Member

what exactly do you mean?
    are you referring to flight code for a hobbyist UAV, or flight code for a boeing 737

7. Oct 19, 2015 #6

Rio Larsen

Gold Member

Both would be nice but I'm much more concerned about a Boeing 737.

8. Oct 19, 2015 #7

donpacino

Gold Member

so the hobbyist stuff is easy. go to a website like aeroquad, download the source code, and examine it!