Biochemistry major I need advise on picking a minor

In summary: I think it would be great to have a minor in both as it would give you a lot of knowledge in different fields and you would be able to talk about things in those fields with people who have taken the same classes as you. I think it would also be a great way to show your professors that you are interested in more than just one topic and that you are not just a one-trick pony.
daviddee305
Biochemistry major... I need advise on picking a minor...

I'm a sophomore majoring in 'Biochemistry & Molecular Biology'. My plan is to pursue a PHD in the bio-sciences (biochemistry, biophysics, bio-engineering) or maybe Nanotechnology.

Between Philosophy, Physics, Math, and Computer Science, which minor would be most beneficial in terms of knowledge, and would look best on my grad school application?

Personally, I would like to minor in Philosophy, but I'm afraid it will look useless on my grad school app, especially if I go the direction of bio/nano-tech.

Any recommendations or comments are appreciated. Thanks...

Physics news on Phys.org

You can never take too much math.

Fellow biochemistry major here. I myself am minoring in mathematics for much the same reason as what BoundByAxioms said. I also think that the logic learned through more advanced mathematics will help no matter what field you enter.

A computer science minor would, of course, have quite a bit of practical value in a general sense.

I'd vote for applied math, if that's an option. Lots of biochemists, and chemists in general, are lacking a strong applied mathematics background. Plus, math always helps getting into grad school because it's a great tool to have, regardless of what your research will be in eventually.

I would also vote for math. Computer science if you are interested in computational biology or bioinformatics.