Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

[C++] Which programs to write to learn more C++?

1. May 2, 2015 #1
    Alright guys so I just finished my freshmen intro course in c++ and I found it interesting. This course only taught up to classes and file i/o. I want to learn more of c++ and overall many more programs. How do I teach myself c++ more indepth or are there any free sites you recommend to learn it or any other program?

2. jcsd
  3. May 2, 2015 #2
    I've been looking at 'C++ From the Ground Up' by Herbert Schildt (on the regrettably few occasions when I have time) and I've found it helpful, with unpacked explanations of what each piece of the code is doing along with other tips and things to be aware of. It goes all the way through from complete beginner level but you can just skip ahead to whatever suits your previous experience.

It is quite behemoth of a book, so you'd probably keep it at home, but my copy says $34.99 which is less than I would have expected for such a huge book. I avoided paying though by getting it from my university library, which is worth doing if you can. You might find the library has other books you like as well/instead.

4. May 2, 2015 #3

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Don't use that book. Look up the term "bullschildt".

5. May 2, 2015 #4
    I would recommend the book SICP by MIT. Even though it isn't in C++, rather Scheme. It's a great intro to CS book, and by the time you are done you will be a better coder for sure.

6. May 3, 2015 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

I suggest Koenig and Moo's "Accelerated C++". Although it's supposedly for beginners, it takes a very different path from most C++ textbooks. It focuses on the container data types in the standard library (vector, string, list, set, etc.) instead of C-style arrays and pointers like most intro books do (or at least did when I used to teach intro C++).