1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Calculus of Variations (in dire need)

1. Mar 18, 2009 #1
    Please allow me to preface:

I'm an undergraduate physics student at a small school where upper-level courses are on a two year rotation. So, I'm currently in an advanced Mathematical Methods course for which I lack prerequisites. I'm only concurrently enrolled in differential equations, I've a poor background in calculus and, I've yet to take modern physics--I've only completed the introductory level mechanics and electromagnetism courses.

After a fellow student explained calculus of variations to me, briefly, I realized how startlingly wrong and almost juvenile was my attempted approach to one of the problems. What only adds to my aggravation is that, this course is a distance learning course broadcast from another small school several hundred miles away. So, given all of my previous positive experiences, I'm referring to Physics Forum with hopes of a clear, concise tutorial.

For all those who may contribute, you've my deep and sincere gratitude. Thank you.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

A curve y(x) of length 2a is drawn between the points (0,0) and (a,0) in such a way that the solid obtained by rotating the curve about the x-axis has the largest possible volume. Find y(1/2a)

2. Relevant equations

[tex]\partial[/tex]F/[tex]\partial[/tex]y - [(d/dx) *([tex]\partial[/tex]F/[tex]\partial[/tex]y' =0 ?

3. The attempt at a solution

∫ 2piF(x) dx - I’m integrating some function, which would just be the function of the curve, so, I’d have to multiply it times two, and then pi to represent the rotation?