1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Callen: Thermodynamics (general fail)

1. Oct 28, 2011 #1
    Greetings, I'm a 4th year physics undergrad, hoping to avoid entering a 5th. Using 2nd edition of Callen for Thermo class in upper div. I'm having a real hard time solving any problem in this book. I haven't had nightmares over homeworks since my math methods class which used Arfken. The problem is just ..I dont seem to have the pre-requisite understanding of thermodynamics / statistical physics. Lecture also covers different topics (yes, really.) I am going to post up a couple problems, not really looking for answers but maybe what I should've read up on first before I tried this problem. This is from the 2nd edition of callen. I have a lot of other problems I just think i'd ask about the worst one first.

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

19.3-6. Consider a small quantity of matter consisting of a fixed number N moles in a large fluid system. Let ρN be the average density of these N moles: the mass divided by the volume. Show that equation 19.17 implies that the density fluctuations are

<(ΔρN)^2> / (ρN)^2 = + kb * T * κt / V

in which V is the average volume of the N moles.

--
    ok , i can't seem to understand the sigma symbol, so let me explain

kb is the boltzmann constant
    κt is k-sub-t (subscript), i actually dont know what this is.
    ΔρN has a hat ( a ^ symbol) on the ρ
    ρN is ρ-sub-N (subscript)

2. Relevant equations

eq 19.17 is:

<(ΔV-hat)^2> = -kb T (dv/dp)t,N1,... = kB T V κT

3. The attempt at a solution