1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can anyone help with cylindrical polar coords?

1. Dec 7, 2008 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    This is a question in my classical mechanics book, and i am not very good with polar coordinates. I am suppose to fine r, phi, z in terms of x,y,z.
    Basically I need to derive the cylindrical polar coordinates from the Cartesian coordinates.
    The question specifically asks Find expressions for the unit vectors r,phi,z of cylindrical polar coordinates in terms of the Cartesian coordinates.

3. The attempt at a solution
    So far I have drawn a picture of cylinder and labeled everything i could. Now I know z=z, that is no problem. I know that x=r*cos[theta] and y=r*sin[theta], I also know that r=sqrt[x^2+y^2] and i know that phi=arctan[y/x]. The only way that i know how to derive these is drawing a triangle and showing it, is there any other way, like actually deriving them?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 7, 2008 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I think drawing a triangle is exactly what you are expected to do. Well done. But why do you have both a phi and a theta floating around? There's only one angle in cylindrical coordinates.

4. Dec 7, 2008 #3
    Oops, i didn't catch that before thank you, another quick question, I am suppose to differentiate these expressions with respect to time to get dr/dt, dphi/dt and dz/dt.
    But i got confused on this part because i don't really understand partial differentiation, would i have like something with a dot. I don't know sorry i am confused.

5. Dec 7, 2008 #4

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper