1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can I get list of physics textbooks

1. Apr 17, 2017 #1
    Hello, I have a bachelors degree in mechanical engineering. I just recently decided I wanted to get a masters degree in physics but that won't happen cause I'm a homeowner paying a high mortgage while working half a year. While I only work half a year I doubt I could pull it off but it's tempting.

I was wondering if someone can give me a good list of physics textbooks used by various universities for a student under a typical 4 year degree plan so I could have something to work with on my free time.

I would appreciate this a lot.

Thank you,
    Kyle

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 17, 2017 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Try Gerald 't Hooft's website here:

http://www.staff.science.uu.nl/~gadda001/goodtheorist/

Also Leonard Susskind's Theoretical Minimum books and online lectures would be good. They are geared for folks who have some background and want to recover what they thought they forgot but never learned. :-)

Currently, he has two books on Classical Mechanics and Quantum Mechanics with a third on the way.

Also there's this book which is coming out soon by Kip Thorne and Roger Blandford:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0691159025/ref=ox_sc_sfl_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

You can find preprints online to get a jump on the text. The focus is on using geometric principles to understand physics.

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2017
  4. Apr 18, 2017 #3