Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Can light experience Gravity assist?

1. Nov 15, 2014 #1
    Sorry this is a silly question but I'm an amateur and simple. Can someone explain Gravity-assist and the Penrose process to me? I'm obviously missing something basic but I'm confused. Technically, could a photon travelling at c experience a gravity assist (or something like the Penrose process) around a rotating black hole, and if so why couldn't the photon be accelerated faster than c? Thanks for reading this.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 15, 2014 #2
    The only silly question is one you do not learn from... but these things you mentioned and light are unrelated so I'll just try to break them down briefly.

Gravity assist is simply using a large mass for its attractive force, in Newtonian physics, or "falling into" a gravity well in general relativity but this does not lead to an assist directly, since you have to "slingshot" around the mass and are pulled back by gravity slowing you back down or "climbing" back out of the well in GR. The gain in velocity is acquired while you are in "orbit" around the mass in which may be brief but effective in taking some of the orbital energy from a mass orbiting around another body (the opposite direction slows you down and gives the larger mass slightly more energy).

The Penrose process is different because it doesn't involve the mass orbiting anything, it involves a smaller mass orbiting a quickly rotating larger mass and the smaller mass can leave the system, perhaps broken and part falls in with other other part being ejected with more energy, but it actually slows down the rotation of the larger mass a bit. If it all falls in it adds its energy to the rotation.