Clock face notation of a Transformer's "Vector Group"

• Thread starter jaus tail
  • Start date
Hi,
I'm studying transformer and am a bit confused. Say for vector group: Dy11, I guess it's the line voltage of LV leads the Line voltage of HV by 30 degrees. Book says phase angle. The phase angle is line voltage right,
since the phase voltage of HV and LV will always be in phase with each other.

I googled up for it, but everywhere it says phase angle. Just wanted to clarify whether phase angle is angle between line voltage of lv and hv side.

Thanks in advance for the answers.

Baluncore

Science Advisor
The phase is measured between the three conductors on the primary or the three on the secondary. A 3PH transformer can be wound to generate any phase shift of the output required, but you can assume the secondary voltages will be in phase with the primary voltage. Only the inductive magnetising current will be at 90° to the phase voltage.

A three phase system has three single phases. The only difference between phases is that they are separated in time by a 120° phase shift. The three phase primary inputs have the same amplitude, or RMS voltages.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three-phase

A phasor diagram of a 3PH system will show three vectors of equal length radiating from a neutral at the origin to a common circle. Those vectors rotate once on the diagram for each cycle of the AC supply. That is a Y connection.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phasor#Phasor_diagrams

Notice that the vectors on the phasor diagram can be connected in an equilateral triangle that is closed, with all phasors summing to zero. That is a delta connection. There is no central neutral terminal. The circle that the three Delta terminals follow is smaller than the Y circle.