1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

College decision

1. Aug 3, 2007 #1

I'm a senior in high school and am planning to go to school for aerospace engineering. I've been trying to decide what college would be best for me. Specifically, I'm looking at three main colleges...

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)
    Worcestor Polytechnic Institute (WPI)
    Pennsylvannia State University (PSU)

I was wondering if anyone knew specifically about any of these school's aerospace engineering programs (if one is "better" than the other, etc.)?

Thanks for any help! :rofl:

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 3, 2007 #2
    I'm an aerospace engineering student at PSU, but I can't tell you if it's better than the other programs you listed. If you have any specific questions about PSU's, I can try to answer those for you. :)
  4. Aug 7, 2007 #3
    Hey z-component!
    How long have you been at PennState?
    What is your main area of concentration- aeronautics or astronautics?
    I was wondering, how "customizable" is the aerospace engineering curriculum at PennState? (Can I pick and choose many of the courses I take, or is it pretty set already?)
  5. Aug 7, 2007 #4
    I've been there for a little over a year now (am now a sophomore). At the moment, I'm not specialized in anything yet, since I'm still completing my core engineering classes, but when I get the opportunity, I'll be choosing aeronautics. The curriculum is not overly customizable, but you're required to take electives that expose you to different things.

Here is the Program Guide (PDF): http://www.aero.psu.edu/undergrads/UG_Curriculum_Guide_2006-07.pdf