1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Compare the following books - Griffiths, Sakurai, Shankar

1. Feb 27, 2009 #1
    Ok, maybe the subject has been discussed in some manner in other posts, but I would like a clear comparison between :

* David J Griffiths - Introduction to Quantum Mechanics
    * Shankar - Principles of Quantum Mechanics
    * Sakurai - Modern Quantum Mechanics

What is your experience with these books, which one would you choose for studying QM alone?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 27, 2009 #2
    I would advise against using Griffiths.

As for the others, well, I can't say.

4. Feb 27, 2009 #3
    FOr studying QM alone, as a beginner, I would choose Grifiths. It's an easy book however, and some people do not wat that.

5. Feb 28, 2009 #4
    griffiths really is a poor book. the exercises range from ridiculously simple to ridiculously inane. a lot of them just test your algebraic abilities or your ability to remember the notation. people say shankar is good and he emphatically states that his exercises aren't pointless. sakuari is a good book as well but i tried it reading before having read griffiths and it wasn't accessible. i say go with shankar.

6. Feb 28, 2009 #5

malawi_glenn

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

I think Grifftihs is good, and so is Sakurai. But Sakurai is more advanced, not suitable for first exposure of QM. Griffiths is best of those books to start with.

Concerning exercises, there are lots of such books. And also class pages on the internet with old exams with solutions etc.

Now more comparisons. Griffiths uses mainly the wave-function approach and Sakurai the Dirac notations with bra-ket. Also the style in Griffiths book is more 'modern'.