Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Complex numbers: reinventing the wheel?

1. Dec 28, 2013 #1

bobie

Gold Member

I am studying complex numbers and, hard as I try, I cannot see great difference between them and the conjugate numbers known and used since 500 B.C. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quadratic_formula#Historical_development) to solve a quadratic equation
    [tex]p/2 \pm \sqrt(p/2 ^2\pm q) [/tex]
    where the sum of the conjugates gives p and the multiplication q.

It seems to me that they just factorized these "conjugate, triangular or pythagorean" numbers (doing separate operations) and used them to find the root in
    [itex]x^3 -px = q[/itex] when p is < 0,
    setting √p/3 as the hypothenuse, x/2 and √(p/3-x/2 ^2) as legs of the triangle and parts of the conjugate numbers
    u , v = [tex]x/2\pm \sqrt{p/3-x/2 ^2}[/tex]
    the (separate) sum of the conjugates u (x/2+x/2) + v (+√ -√=0) gives x and the (cross,separate) multiplication gives (x/2 ^2 + √.. ^2) the squared hypothenuse p/3, satisfying cardano formula u * v = p/3:
    (x/2 + √...) * (x/2 - √...) = (x/2 ^2 + p/3 -x/2 ^2)

Why call them complex or imaginary numbers as the negative square root is taken as an absolute value? can someone , please, point out the differences apart from the cross multiplication?

Thanks

Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 28, 2013 #2

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I'm not exactly sure what you're claiming. In ordinary real number arithmetic, the equation

[itex]x^2 + 1 = 0[/itex]

has no solution. If you try to come up with two numbers [itex]\alpha_+[/itex] and [itex]\alpha_-[/itex] such that

[itex]\alpha_+ + \alpha_- = 0[/itex]
    [itex]\alpha_+ \times \alpha_- = -1[/itex]

there are no such numbers. Complex analysis just adds a new number, [itex]i[/itex] to the mix, and declares:

[itex]\alpha_+ = +i[/itex]