1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Current Density between two infinite plates

1. Dec 5, 2017 #1
    Hi, i'm studying the "Child Langmuir law". We have a grounded cathode that is an infinite plane with free electrons, and an anode with a positive voltage V. The text says that the current density J is constant between the two plates for the "Charge conservation principle". I was not able to understand how a constant J implies the charge conservation. Could you help me ?

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 5, 2017 #2
    Imagine two infinite parallel planes, numbered 1 and 2, also parallel to the cathode and anode, situated between the two plates. There is some charge density between the two planes, consisting of electrons, which are flowing in a direction perpendicular to the two planes. If the current density J1 through one plane is different from J2 through the other, that means that with time, there is a pile up of charge between the two plates.

4. Dec 6, 2017 at 1:30 PM #3
    So the current intensity can change ,the important is that J=pv stays constant. Is this correct ?

5. Dec 6, 2017 at 3:15 PM #4