Cycling Forces & Physics - Help

In summary, Nels is a high school student in Australia who has a physics assignment to explain the forces and physics of an object. He has chosen cycling as his subject and is struggling with what concepts to explain and use in his paper. He finds a useful website that discusses the geometry of a bicycle, airflow, downhill speed and terminal velocity. Nelson recommends researching drag coefficients and crank versus tire angular velocity ratios before getting into air friction.
nelson_gslc
Hey guys,
I'm a student at high school in Australia. I currently have a physics assignment that states i have to explain the forces and physics of an object. I have chosen cycling. I know the basic s=d/t and a little bit on airflow and using the "teardrop" shape in helmets and frames, but otherwise I'm a bit stuck on what concepts to explain and use in my paper. I can explain stuff about the equipment (clothes, helmet, frames, cleat-shoes) or the speed, drag, momentum, terminal velocity etc (like formulas, they could be really helpful!) Any help on anything to do with cycling and physics would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all the way from oz.
Nels.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
nelson_gslc said:
Any help on anything to do with cycling and physics would be greatly appreciated.
I can't actually help with anything other than to mention that one of the most interesting things about a bike to me is the gyroscopic effect of the wheels. Don't ask me to explain it, though.

Danger said:
one of the most interesting things about a bike to me is the gyroscopic effect of the wheels.

You mean the myth that the gyroscopic effect of the wheels keeps a bicycle from falling over? :wink: